Language: English | Chinese
Home About Zhongshan News Business Culture Services
HOME > About Zhongshan >Overview > Administrative division of Zhongshan
Administrative division of Zhongshan
Updated: 2019-01-21    Source: Large Medium Small Print

Zhongshan, situated in the south central part of the Pearl River Delta and west of the Pearl River, borders Guangzhou to the north and abuts Hong Kong and Macao. It governs 18 towns and 6 districts, including the Zhongshan Torch High-tech Industrial Development Zone and covering the Tsuihang New District. 

The city covers an area of 1,783.67 square kilometers, with a household registered population of 1,704,700. It is also home to over 900,000 overseas Chinese and compatriots residing in Hong Kong, Macao and Taiwan.

Zhongshan, known as Xiangshan in ancient times, is the hometown of Sun Yat-sen, a great forerunners in China's revolution. The city was established in 1152 and changed its name from Xiangshan to Zhongshan in 1925 to commemorate Sun Yat-sen. 

On October 30, 1949, Zhongshan County was liberated and was gradually divided into several parts, including Zhuhai County, Doumen County (most part), and some areas affiliated to Panyu County, Shunde County and Xinhui County respectively. 

On December 22, 1983, Zhongshan changed its administrative status from a county into a city (at county-level), with the unchanged administrative regions. 

On January 7, 1988, Zhongshan was upgraded to a prefecture-level city that is under the direct administration of the Guangdong People's Government.

About Zhongshan News Business Culture Services

Copyright © 2018-2019 Zhongshan Daily Newspaper Group. All rights reserved. Presented by